There are four main blood groups (types of blood): A, B, AB and O. Your blood group is determined by the genes you inherit from your parents.

Each group can be either RhD positive or RhD negative, which means your blood group can be one of the eight types shown below (see Blood groups ).

Content supplied by the NHS Website

Medically Reviewed by a doctor on 20 Jan 2017